[Italiano]

A couple of days ago, I woke up to find an email from the New York Road Runners:

Congratulations!
On the first day of spring, Sunday, March 20, you’ll run New York’s famous race through the heart of the city, Times Square.

Wait a minute! you’ll run? What does you’ll run mean? Don’t I have any word on it? I guess I will have to travel to New York and run those 13.1 miles … half around Central Park and then out on 5th Ave through Times Square and along the Hudson River to Battery Park in downtown.

It’s a wonderful race, the scenery is amazing and the field is just astonishing: world-class runners race it every year as a fine-tune and a gear-check for marathons like Boston and London. Not that the elite field means much to me: they’ll be over when I’ll be – hopefully – crossing Times Square, but it’s usually a good indication on how good a race is (though that doesn’t equate with smaller, local races not having a fierce competition).
I ran the race twice before; in 2009, mid-August and it was miserable, the temps were just obscene and even the elites (that year had Paula Radcliffe running it) complained. Since then, NYRR moved the race to early Spring, and when I ran it again in 2010, the weather was much better but despite having pr’ed, I didn’t feel I gave all myself to it as I was just coming back from a very bad, ill-treated, oft-forgotten knee injury.
This year, I’ve no idea where I will be in March; I doubt I will have the time to be as trained as I would like to be, and I can only hope the Achilles won’t be bothering.

I will see. Now it’s important not to let emotions and anticipations take the best and disrupt my recovery and healing.

Elite Field at the NYC Half 2010


Un paio di giorni fa ho ricevuto un’email dai New York Road Runners; mi si annunciava che avevo vinto la lotteria e che quindi potrò partecipare in Marzo all’edizione 2011 della NYC Half-Marathon.
Non sarà la prima volta che correrò su quel percorso. Avevo partecipato la prima volta nell’agosto del 2009 e mi ricordo solo che faceva un caldo d’inferno, tanto che quando sono uscito da Central Park per gli ultimi 7km attraverso Times Square e lungo lo Hudson River, non mi importava più di che tempo avrei fatto ed ormai correvo solo per raggiungere il prima possibile la prossima water station per avere un po’ d’acqua. Tutti si lamentarono quell’anno, e visto che NYRR volevano rendere la mezza un evento alla pari della maratona e poter attrarre molti nomi famosi, la mezza fu spostata da agosto a metà marzo.
A marzo di quest’anno l’ho corso per una seconda volta: stesso percorso, diverso clima. Le temperature più moderate hanno reso la gara più interessante, ed infatti Peter Kamais è arrivato a meno di 30 secondi da un nuovo record di percorso (per gli uomini, fu Haile Gebrselassie a fissarlo a 59:24 nel 2007), mentre Mara Yamauchi ha vinto con un record di percorso di 1:09:17. Anch’io, nel mio piccolo, sono arrivato a migliorare il mio personale nella mezza, anche se, arrivando da una lunga terapia per un ginocchio di cui ero stato sordo ai lamenti per più di un anno, non ho potuto dare il meglio di me stesso.

Quest’anno non so come andrà; tra meno di un’ora ho il primo appuntamento con la fisioterapista di UMass per il tendine d’Achille. Posso solo pregare che il tendine si sistemi in fretta e per tempo, e che mi permetta di riprendere gli allenamenti; ma per ora (ed anche dopo) devo concentrarmi a non strafare e prendere quello che avrò il 20 marzo del prossimo anno a New York.