[Italiano]

While the entire city of New York was looking and cheering the marathoners who stood at the starting line in Staten Island and slowly but surely moved towards Central Park, I stood at another starting line; the Dan Barry Memorial 5 Miler is a local, low-key race held in the nearby town of Hatfield, just across the river, and with only 68 runners it feels small and homey. It was the third race in a streak of three: 5k for Farmland was the first, while Larch Hill Classic was the second of my slow come-back to running and racing; my legs, my Achilles in particular, are holding together, though they still miss the strength and agility they once had; they feel sluggish at times, and certainly I still have a long road to go.
In such a small race, it was hard to contain the exuberance of the start and I was dragged by more athletic runners and ended up running the first mile at a too brisk of a pace: 6 minutes. I knew I would have paid for that exuberance, and I surely did. I almost consciously slowed down, few runners passed me, and I kept running next to another fellow runner. She was having trouble keeping the pace, and stopped few times, hands on knees, on the quiet Sunday roads; I would be a liar if I said I didn’t feel like stopping myself, but I kept going and she kept catching up. As it happens so many times in races, we were silently helping each other to go through the few, rough patches. Eventually we reached the home-stretch: I was hearing her heavy breathing behind me, maybe few yards away. An ill-placed, chivalrous thought urged me to slow down and let a woman win: chivalry is different in races, and I knew she wouldn’t have wanted anything else but a fair race. I ran against her, finishing in 32:43 and she 2 seconds behind.
Later we looked at each other, without any hint of sarcasm: nice run!

[photos] Photographies taken during the race are up on Shutterfly.

Look at the entire series: it's awesome! -- credits: Christoph Niemann, NYTimes


Non c’è due senza tre potrebbe dire qualcuno; domenica scorsa ho corso una piccola gara locale: la Dan Barry Memorial 5 Miler (~8km) nella vicina Hatfield.
È una gara piccolina, solo 68 runners e quasi tutti del mio club, il Sugarloaf Mountain Athletic Club, o SMAC. È stato fantastico rivedere tutti gli amici con cui mi allenavo i giovedì sera nella calda estate 2010 sulla pista di una high school a Greenfield. Non si erano dimenticati di me, ed io non mi ero dimenticato di loro: avrei dovuto scrivere per spiegare perché non mi sono mai fatto vedere durante la scorsa estate, ma pensavo che avrei “disturbato.” È bello sapere, conoscere gente che condivide la tua stessa passione e ti sprona sempre a fare del tuo meglio, a superare i tuoi limiti, e migliorare te stesso.

Sono partito sicuramente troppo esuberante: 6 minuti al miglio, ovvero ~3:45 al km, è troppo per me, soprattutto adesso che sto ancora costruendo le basi. Ed ho pagato quel primo miglio, come se non l’ho pagato! Ho rallentato molto nelle miglia successive, sapevo che non sarei riuscito a mantenere quel passo e di fatti ho finito in 32:43 che comunque è un tempo di tutto rispetto e di 2 minuti più veloce del mio precedente personale nelle 5mi: questo mi dice quanto sia cresciuto da quando avevo iniziato a correre nella primavera del 2008 a NYC e facevo 4 miglia in 30 minuti!

Questa settimana nessuna gara (me ne vado a Boston domenica); ho un paio di altre gare sul calendario, ma non dico nulla perché sono superstizioso!

[foto] Alcuni compagni di corse hanno fatto un po’ di foto che sono ora su Shutterfly.